Kathmandu : Nepali Congress’ Gagan Kumar Thapa has won the election to the Member of House of Representatives (HoR) from Kathmandu district constituency no 4. Election Officer Sharada Poudel said Thapa secured 21,302 votes out of the 45,929 votes cast in the constituency.

Thapa’s closest contender CPN (UML)’s Rajan Bhattarai got 13,855 votes, according to Poudel.

Vote counting starting in Kalikot from 1pm today
Vote counting under the election to the Member of House of Representatives and Province Assembly held on Sunday is to start from 1pm today. An all-party meeting decided to this effect. The ballot boxes from all the polling centres in the district have been collected and the all-party meeting has agreed to start counting the votes from 1pm, said Chief Election Officer, Bharat Lamsal.

Former Chief Minister of Karnali Province, Mahendra Bahadur Shahi, CPN (UML)’s Nagendra Shahi, independent Kashi Chandra Baral, Nepali Congress (BP)’s Pankha Bahadur Bishta, Nepal Workers Peasants’ Party (NWPP)’s Khadka Raj Shahi, RPP’s Dhan Bahadur Budha and Dhana Prasad Pandey, an independent candidate, are running for the one House of Representatives seat from Kalilot.

Similarly, the district will elect two members to the Province Assembly and eight candidates are vying for the posts.

Related News